Rosemary spice rub

One of my favorite things to do when cooking meat of any kind is to use a spice rub, and obviously I prefer to make my own. The recipe I’m about to share is a super versatile spice rub, mainly for chicken or pork but could also go great with any kind of protein.kryddmix

I always use a pestle and mortar for this because I find it blends all the spices together and makes it all come alive in a way that wouldn’t happen if you just stir it up.

So! In your mortar add 6 white peppercorns, half a teaspoon of celery powder, a quarter teaspoon of black pepper, a pinch of garlic powder and a teaspoon of rosemary.

Important to note here is that I make my own celery and garlic powder which makes the taste slightly more… potent. I’m not sure how they stack up to the store-bought versions, but my feeling is that you may need a bit more, especially of the garlic.

Anyway, start grinding away at the ingredients and at the very end you can add about half a teaspoon of sea salt, and just lightly grind that in. I like to still see some small flakes of salt.

Now all you need is some tasty food to try this on. For me, I recommend chicken. It was definitely my favourite so far. But I’m really looking forward to trying this on duck breast, I have a feeling it will go great. I’ll fill you in with the results.

Image | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

