Dark beer stew

This is something I made for dinner yesterday and that I absolutely love. Now, I made this kind of sloppy because I just didn’t have the energy to cut the vegetables up all fancy and stuff. beefstew

This works great for any cheap cut of beef, I used chuck steak. For two people you’ll need 300 grams of beef, 1 onion, 1 stalk of celery, 1 carrot and 1 clove of garlic.

Sear the beef and then add chopped up onion, celery, carrot and garlic to the pot. Again, be super careful to make sure the vegetables don’t burn. It will not taste great, believe me! After this you pour in about half a liter of dark beer. The darker you go, the bitterer your stew will taste. Personally I really like a dark bitter stew, so for me dark beer is the way to go. But if you like a milder taste, just go with something light like a Heineken, or whatever you have handy.  Now add beef stock. You’ll have to do this to taste since I used my own and it is drastically different from the kind you buy. Almost a liter of water goes in also. And the last thing is a bay leaf, a must for stews.

Then you just put the lid on and let it simmer away till the meat falls apart if given a little push. This may take up to four hours(jeez, right) or as little as two. It differs greatly depending on what cut and quality of meat. This one took about 2 and a half hours I think. If you’re reading and thinking this sounds really time-consuming, thinking again! You only really have to check the stew every hour or so, give it a stir and then put the lid back on. This recipe couldn’t be easier.

The last half hour I recommend removing the lid and letting the liquid reduce, this is important as it will let the flavours intensify.

And there you have it, a super simple beer stew!

Image | This entry was posted in Recipes, Stew and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

