Pizza dough

Who doesn’t love a great pizza? It’s the ultimate lazy meal, something you pick up after work when you simply don’t have the energy to cook.pizza

Well, this is a way to make delicious pizza in your home, without the need for fancy ovens or anything more complicated than a pie dish. AND you’ll have the benefit of knowing exactly what is in it, which for me is always a plus.

I have perfected this dough recipe over the years to try to figure out what makes pizza dough so great and how to make it, and this is what I’ve come up with.

So, what do you need for two people?
25 grams of yeast
2 dl(0.8 cups) of water
1-2 teaspoons of salt
2 tablespoons of olive oil
5-6 dl(2.1-2.5 cups) of flour

Crumble the yeast in a large bowl and add your water. Just as I wrote about in my previous post, yeast is really fickle and therefore the liquid you use need to exactly 37 degrees(celsius), otherwise your dough simply will not rise. :'(

When your yeast has fully dissolved, toss in your salt. I like my pizza dough very salty so I use 2 teaspoons of salt, but you can use less if your prefer. Stir in your olive oil and start pouring in your flour.

Pizza dough needs a lot of air, so don’t over-knead it. The dough needs to just come together enough for it not to stick to your hands. When this is done, put cloth over your bowl and let rest for 30 minutes.

There are no slower 30 minutes than when I’m making pizza, it’s like I can’t wait to eat. I… uhm… really, really, really like pizza. So when the excruciatingly long 30 minutes are up, all you need to do is knead for a minute and push the dough into a pie tin of any kind. Obviously, you can use a rolling-pin for this, but I prefer to just throw the entire thing in there and start working with my hands.pizza3

I push the dough a bit up on the edge, just to make sure it will hold a pizza shape when it rises in the oven.

Now, just add tomato sauce, cheese and topping of your choice.

I love green bell pepper, and I have to have it on my pizza. Honestly, for me it’s not a proper pizza without bell pepper. The bitterness of it work really great with pepperoni and mushrooms. But that’s me, and when it’s your choice just make sure whatever you put on there is something that you really love and it cannot go wrong!

So pop your pizza in a 220 degree oven for 15-20 minutes.

Serve with a nice fresh salad and you’ll be in heaven.pizza2

If you like a thinner pizza, use half the dough and roll out on baking paper and cook on a preheated oven tray.

You’ll notice there’s only mushrooms on half of it, we had a bit of a disagreement in our house… But that’s ok, that’s the nice part about making your own, you can totally cater it to your own specific taste.

Do you have a secret for home-made pizza?

Share it!

Image | This entry was posted in Baking, Bread, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pizza dough

  1. Pingback: Bread and Me – The frustration | Cook, Dine & Tinker

  2. Pingback: Italian Style Pizza | Cook, Dine & Tinker

Leave a Reply

