Bread and Me

breadbaking3There are a few things in this world that I consider myself quite good at. For instance, I make the worlds greatest bolognese. To me, it’s one of the best tasting things ever. When cooking this I dance around in my kitchen singing R-Kellys “Worlds Greatest” at the top of my lungs. I love my bolognese. LoveLoveLove it!
But… I digress…

One thing I have never been able to succeed at is baking bread.
And it kills me, because…

My name is Malin, and I’m a bread-oholic.

I could eat bread for days on end if people didn’t stop me. I love whole grain, crisp bread, baguettes, sour-dough… mmm…. bread… Any kind.
So once in awhile I browse the internet and find all these amazing pictures of gorgeous, crispy, soft home-made bread. And I think “Today is the day!”
I find a recipe, carefully read it and meticulously follow the instructions…
Only to find out, today was not the day.

I can make a mean pizza dough, and some kick-ass cinnamon buns, so I completely do NOT understand why, oh why I fail so miserably at making what appears to be a simple loaf.

Yesterday… I thought, “Surely, this must be my day?”

The results… breadbaking
Yeah… ish. It was kind of my day. But as you can see, it doesn’t have that deliciously soft and chewy interior and crispy, but still somehow soft, exterior.
It’s fine, but I would not buy this if I came across it in a shop. And for me, anything short of that is never going to be good enough. breadbaking2Call me picky, but bread is important.

But this is nevertheless the best attempt ever! So I’m excited.

Now, blog friends… This is where you come in.
I have a lot of goals for 2013, and making the perfect loaf of bread is on top of that list. So, if anyone out there knows what I’m doing wrong, I’m begging you to let me know!

Image | This entry was posted in Baking, Bread and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bread and Me

  1. kb says:

    I’ve been baking breads on and off for a long time but not perfect, at least in my book. I was frustrated too and decided to perfect it last year. I’m now satisfied with rustic (artisan) breads, but I’m still discovering a lot about simple sandwich loaves. Try the book, Bread Baker’s Apprentice. It explains the science behind bread baking – a bit involved if you’re just looking for recipes but I realized after reading I needed to know the info in the book to understand what I was doing wrong. You’ll get there! And awesome cinnamon bun recipe – I’m putting on my list!

    • Thank you for your comment!
      I will search the world for this book because I agree completely with you in that you have to understand baking bread. It is complicated. And hair-pullingly frustrating. :)

  2. epibee says:

    I share your addiction just not your passion and patience in the kitchen, so I am of no use for your problem. But loved the post. Left me craving for lunchtime (and I just had breakfast).

Leave a Reply

