A Proper Introduction and a Killer Marinade

Hey guys!
I noticed a complete lack of pictures of myself on the blog, and while that might not be super necessary I thought that after the blog being up and running for two months now you deserved a proper introduction.

Hi!
double-liten

My name is Malin, and I apparently love basil!
No, actually… If you’ve read any of my posts before… You’ll probably have figured out my favourite herb is rosemary. Sweet, woody, delicious rosemary.
But I happened to have to great looking(and smelling) basil on hand.

Well anyway, I hope you all have liked to blog so far. This is actually my first ever blog, therefore I was insanely nervous starting this, and I’m really surprised and happy at the amount of support I’ve gotten from complete strangers in just this short time.
So I can’t thank everyone enough!

But this post wasn’t really supposed to be about me.
Back to the important stuff…
Food!!

I found this thing on pinterest a while back about buying second-hand cast iron pans and cleaning, making them as good as new. Since I can’t afford buying these new I thought this was like the best thing ever. Unfortunately I’ve lost the post, so I can’t give the author the proper credit he/she deserves, because I’ve never been so happy with any kitchen utensils as my cast iron pans.
I bought two, a small one I use mainly for chicken fillets and frying eggs. And…
Here’s what I want to tell you about, I bought a cast iron grill pan. It cost me next to nothing and has yielded some of the best tasting food I’ve ever cooked.
Fair warning though, cast iron pans are HEAV-Y!
But, hey, at least I get an arm work-out when I have to get it out of the cupboard.

So anyway, with this information in hand you will understand that I’ve become addicted. I use it everyday I think. And if I were to recommend something it would be toasting bread in it, or making grilled cheese sandwiches. The pan gives the bread this really great charcoaly flavour that is just unbeatable. IMG_6854-2

This is my favourite meal of the week so far. Grilled marinated pork chop with a huge salad and grilled bread.
The marinade was amazing, even though it only was in there for 20 minutes. Imagine what 24 hours could do!

Marinade:
2 tablespoons of olive oil(you could also do half/half with some rapeseed oil)
A few sprigs of rosemary and thyme
1/2 teaspoon of rosemary salt
1/4 teaspoon celery powder
A pinch of garlic powder

Toss all the ingredients in bag and mix, put the pork chop in, and leave in the fridge until you feel hungry, but I would say a minimum of 20 minutes.
Then all you need to create success is some salt and pepper and a grill pan.

What’s your view on cast iron pots and pans?

Image | This entry was posted in Healthy, Recipes, Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Proper Introduction and a Killer Marinade

  1. norinoir says:

    This looks so good! I have never bought fresh rosemary, but this photo makes me want to buy! Also your photos are absolutely beautiful! Love your colors…

  2. Adam says:

    Just found your blog through your comment on Conor Boffin’s site and I’m very pleased to have done. Cast iron is Fab as you say and bread is just practice. Weirdly water temp seems to be soo important and now I do most of it by feel and eye rather than measurements everyone says you have to follow. Enough about what I think – great work with the site. I look forward to catching your future posts.

    • Thank you so much, it’s so nice to hear what other people think!
      And I agree I don’t much follow measurements either, it’s a bit of challenge to write out the recipes sometimes as I just do “a bit of this, *taste* and oh.. a bit of that”, it’s hard to remember how much of anything I put into dish.

Leave a Reply

