Seed and Herb-Crusted Chicken Fingers

Sometimes when you experiment with food, it turns out really iffy. And then sometimes, you get this. IMG_7297-2
As I was having this for lunch, I had to actually stop and text my boyfriend and tell him how insanely good it tasted. I’ve never been so proud of a dish as this one. So if there’s one dish of mine I strongly urge you try, it’s absolutely this one!

So to make these awesome chicken fingers, enough for 2, you’ll need:
1 chicken breast, around 200 grams
50 grams of fresh baby spinach
2 carrots
1/4 of a cucumber
1 bell pepper of any colour

Seed and herb mix:
1 tablespoon of pumpkin seeds
1 tablespoon of sunflower kernels
1 tablespoon of sesame seeds
1 tablespoon of bread crumbs
A couple of leafs of basil and rosemary

Humus:
1 can(750 grams) of chickpeas
1 tablespoon of water
1 tablespoon of olive oil
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 pinch of cumin
1 pinch of paprika
1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice

To start off, get all your breading ingredients, except for the bread crumbs, in a mortar and start bashing it out. How fine, it’s completely up to you. I like to have a few still unbashed pieces, but you just go ahead as long as you like. When you’ve got a texture you like, toss in the bread crumbs and get it a couple more bashes. IMG_7287-2IMG_7286-2
Cut up your chicken into nice finger-sized pieces and sprinkle over 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt.  Dunk your chicken pieces in the seed and herb mixture and fry them in a hot pan for 3-4 minutes on each side.

Drain and rinse off your chickpeas. Pour them in a bowl with the water and oil, then get your staff mixer out and whizz is up untill smooth. Get the rest of your seasoning in, stir with a spoon. aaaaand, done!IMG_7290-2IMG_7295-2

Cut up your vegetables into sticks and plate with the spinach. If you want other vegetables, throw those in there as well, this is just all I happened to have in the house at the moment. Sad face.

Now, put a large spoonful of humus on your plate and put your super crispy chicken fingers on top. IMG_7307-2

Dig in!
I prefer to eat this with my fingers, to just dip and go, and feel completely like a child.
Try it, it’s fun!

Image | This entry was posted in Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Seed and Herb-Crusted Chicken Fingers

  1. Mmmm I love finger food, it’s so much more fun!

  2. Adam says:

    I love those raw veg crudite with a spicy chilli oil. I also agree that food you can it with your hands is great. However I always thought it rather sexy rather than childlike! Maybe says something about me, I’m afraid one of your followers might pick up on.

    • Sexy… I don’t know, man. I think that depends entirely on what and how you eat. And trust, there is nothing sexy about at least the way I shovel food into my mouth.
      I have a times been described as a vaccum cleaner.

      But I’m definitely interested in trying vegetables with chili oil now, it’s sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

