Spanish Paprika Rice

Helloooo blog friends!

Holy shit, these past two weeks have been buuusy. I’ve started a new job, yay!
The down side of this is that I’ve been working 10 hours shifts almost every day. And they have me getting up at the ungodly hour of 4 am.
Uuuh…
So, as you can imagine… My precious blog(and my precious cooking) have unfortunately been on the back burner as of late.

But for today, I’m all yours!

What I’d like to share today is one of the best ways to do rice.
I call it my spanish paprika rice.
If you happen to be spanish, or know anything about spanish food, you’ll know this isn’t quite right. But, close enough for government work… As they say.

Ingredients for 4:
3 dl, or 1,2 cups of long grain rice
1 red bell pepper
1/2 ripe red tomato
1 onion(red or yellow, your choice!)
A few leaves of fresh parsley
A few leaves of fresh rosemary
1 stock cube(vegetable or chicken, choose what goes best with your protein)
1/2 teaspoon of smoked sweet paprika powder
6 dl, or 2.4 cups of water

Start by cutting up your vegetables into nice bite size pieces and then toss them in a hot pan. Sauté for 3-5 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds.
IMG_7378-2Then add your uncooked rice and the rest of the ingredients, except the water, and cook for another minute or two.
Now add the water and bring up to a boil. Then turn your pan down to a low heat and put the lid on. Leave to cook for about 15-20 minutes, or however long your rice takes to finish cooking. Generally, the rule is that when all your water is absorbed the rice is done.
I like to stir the pot(haha) a couple of times during the cooking process, but it’s really not necessary. All you need to do is to make sure your water isn’t boiling too hard as that will make the water evaporate way too fast, which we do not want. We want all the water to get absorbed by the rice.

When cooked, serve with chicken and some amazing steamed or otherwise cooked vegetables. You can also throw a tablespoon of sour cream on your plate, it works wonders! I’m trying to cut dairy out of my diet, so that’s why you don’t see it on my plate. But I’ve tried it before, and it tasted absolutely great!IMG_7391-2
For me, this is a great spring meal. It’s super light, yet it has the appearance of a heavy meal.  It’s also packed with tasty vegetables.
What more could you ask for, really?

Image | This entry was posted in Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spanish Paprika Rice

  1. Adam says:

    Good hot or cold. Off to Valencia, Spain in a month, home of paella and I will be sampling a few whilst there. This is a nice quick version whilst waiting. Looks great.

Leave a Reply

