The Pie of Champions(and broccoli)

Pie.
I love Pie. IMG_7684-2

Who doesn’t love a good pie?

As is well established on this blog I am not the queen of baking, but this pie despite my short comings comes out great 99% of the time(the 1% is when I forget it in the oven). And for my favourite part of this, the recipe is damn simple to remember. So it’s one of those good things to keep in the back of your mind. No need for recipe books and such.

For the filling:
2 dl* of milk
2 eggs
2 teaspoons of Grey Poupon mustard
Salt and pepper to taste
Vegetables of your choosing

The only really tricky part about this is the crust where I most of the time do not use a recipe, but just go by feeling. My feeling is generally this:
100 grams of butter
1 dl* of flour

*What’s with the dl nonsense, now?
Yes, well… It’s a measurement I noticed quite quickly after starting this blog that only Swedes seem to use. It is a deciliter, and if you know your linguistic roots(I did not, but was just taught this recently. Magic!) you’ll be able to figure about it is a tenth of a liter. Now… The american Cup is 2,5 deciliters. So that would make 1 deciliter about… *quickly googles a converter* 0.42 cups.
I think the dl measurement is superior, since I usually cook for only 2 people, and therefore rarely use 1 cup of anything. I try to convert most of my recipes into cups, but I think that makes the instructions seem harder to follow.
I actually bought a kitchen scale of couple of months ago to make my recipes a little bit easier, but… Obviously it broke almost as soon as I got it, so that means you’re all going to be stuck with my silly swedish measurements for a little longer.
But hey, it’s good to learn new things right?

I use this page for converting, big tip!

Now, enough of my ramblings!

For the pie crust, use room tempered butter and toss in your flour. Add more flour if it’s too loose and a little bit of water if it doesn’t come together when squeezing it together with your hands.
The key to this is to work fast, because the butter will melt the more you touch it which will make you want to add more flour, which in turn will make quite a dense crust. So fast and efficient is key!
When you can form a dough, pop it in the fridge for 20 minutes. Take it out and start to make your crust either by using a rolling-pin to roll the dough out, or you can be lazy like me and just use your hands to push it out onto your pie pan. IMG_7672-2

The crust will need to pre cook in a 200 degree celsius oven for 5-7 minutes. Make sure it doesn’t go dark anywhere, unless you are a crazy person who likes crispy burned bits(like me).
While your crust cools, whisk together all the ingredients for the filling and pour into the pie crust. Technically, you now have a pie ready for the oven. Yay!
But of course, you want tasty vegetables and/or protein in there as well.
My favourites are:
Lightly pre boiled broccoli
Fried crispy bacon bit
Thin slices of leek
Sun dried tomatoes
And a heavy sprinkling of cheese on top(goat cheese/blue cheese/mozzarella/parmesan/or whatever you have on hand)IMG_7686-2

When you filled the pie with all the delicious goodness of your choosing, get the pie in the oven(225 degrees) for around 20-25 minutes. Stick a toothpick in it, if it comes out clean you are good to go!

Serve with some leafy greens and you’ve got yourself a great dinner!IMG_7698-2

Hope you’ll enjoy and I do heartily apologize for my lengthy absence, there are many reasons(excuses) why, but mainly I have just been incredibly lazy.

This entry was posted in Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Pie of Champions(and broccoli)

  1. Adam says:

    Nice to hear from you again. Hope you had a good Xmas/New Year. This is what we would normally call a quiche, but it’s well known that real men don’t eat quiche so I’m very happy to call it pie. Sounds more macho!

Leave a Reply

