Three-vegetable Meatless Monday Inspiration

 

IMG_8399-3These are fantastic little vegetables patties that are very interchangeable depending on the food you have at hand. Super crunchy and savoury, but the broccoli also gives them a little sweetness that is just great. Also, this recipe gives you a use for the broccoli stalk that always tends to end up in the bin otherwise. Last time I made these patties I timed myself, and from start to finish this takes 16 minutes to make. For me, that’s just unbeatable. Everyone has got time for that!

So hopefully I’m going to start running with more meatless monday posts, and the plan is for  them to serve as inspiration for others. I know that it is hard sometimes to think of meals that don’t contain any meat, I find it especially hard when it comes to not adding bacon. Because, bacon is really really good with almost anything.
You might wonder why I wanted to do this(or not, either way I’m going to tell you :). After reading a very long, very extensive article about what a single person can do to help minimize the effects of global warming I decided that I and everyone in my household would participate in meatless monday. Now, you might read that sentence and think that I’m being ridiculous, because honestly… What could one person do to change things on a global scale? Not much, quite frankly. But I cannot sit idly by and do nothing while the planet I live on is slowing being destroyed. I might not be able to change anything, but I don’t have to help in speeding up the processes. So, not making a huge stand or anything. It’s just that meatless monday is not only good for you in terms of health, in eating more vegetables and what not, but also for the world. Pretentious,  possibly…  But I can live with being a pretentious ass, I’m totally fine with that.

So while these meals are meatless, they are not free from all animal products. They are vegetarian, not vegan. But when you choose produce like eggs, try to find eggs from free range chickens. The we treat chickens is fucking atrocious. And while I like a cheap egg and a bargain as much as the next gal, it’s not worth it when you look at the lives of those chickens. And from what I have heard this tends to even worse in American than here in Sweden, so I would advise caution and careful reading regarding where your food comes from.

So enough of this preaching and over to the tasty food!

Ingredients: Makes 3 patties, 1 portion.
1 potato
1 broccoli stalk
1 inch thick piece of  zucchini
1 egg
1 tablespoon flour
2 tablespoons bread crumbs
1 pinch of salt

In a bowl grate all the vegetables. In terms of volume you are looking for the broccoli and zucchini to be about the same amount as your potato. So half potato, half green vegetables. Mix in the remaining ingredients. If the mixture feels a little  wet, don’t worry. It’s supposed to! What I tend to do is to form the mixture into 3 balls and when I put the in a pan I use the spatula to flatten them to a good size. Cook for about 4 minutes on each side on medium heat, then serve up with some cooked spring vegetables or a nice salad.   IMG_8420-2IMG_8379-2IMG_8389-3
Crucial elements:
1. Use a good amount of vegetable oil(rape seed is great!) in the pan, you are almost but not quite looking for a shallow fry situation here. (I know, I’m soo specific)
2. The patties should not be more than 1/2 centimeter thick. While broccoli and zucchini are good to eat raw, potatoes are not. Potatoes can actually be poisonous when raw so the thinner you make the patties the less you have to think about serving raw potatoes.
3. There is no 3, just enjoy the tasty food now!

IMG_8394-4

This entry was posted in Healthy, Meatless Monday, Recipes, Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

