Falafel

It’s monday and finally time for some meatless goodness! Today I want to share my recipe for falafel.IMG_8770-6
I am almost getting my last essay of this term under control, only some minor adjustments left on my analysis of two domains of personality psychology. Ask me about psychoanalysis or neo-psychoanalysis, I double dare you! Either way I finally have time to tell you guys about some tasty food! And no, it’s not falafel time because of some unconscious desire to have balls(seriously, Freud’s theories are a wee bit bonkers and I am afraid I may have broken my brain permanently from reading too).

There are many, many recipes of falafel all over the internet and they all pretty much say the same things, that you need a deep frier. I’m here to tell you however, you don’t. You need a frying pan and some vegetable oil. I’m sure you could bake these in the oven also, but I’ve not tried it and therefore cannot speak to the results, which is why I recommend using a frying pan. And also why my recipe is better than all the other ones. :)

The best thing about falafel is the fact that it can be made completely vegan, and is of course 100% vegetarian. No cheating with any oyster sauce today, no sir.

Ingredients: 2 portions
250 grams of cooked and drained chickpeas.
1 teaspoon of oil(olive oil, or canola)
1 clove of garlic, minced
2 pinches of cumin
1 pinch of smoked paprika powder
1 handful of chopped flatleaf parsley
1-2 tablespoons of white flour
Salt to taste

2/3 – 1 cups of bread crumbs
(Optional, 1 egg)
(Optional, chives)

To start off, take the drained and cooked chickpeas and blend them into a paste using a blender of any kind. After that stir in the rest of the of ingredients, except the eggs and bread crumbs. When it comes the chives, it is not traditionally part of a falafel recipes, but I happened to have some in the house and thought “why not?”, it tasted very nice with a soft oniony flavour so if you have some and hand, try it out!
After all the ingredients have gone in you can start start rolling them into balls. You can make them into any size you want of course but I prefer mine quite small, because the smaller the ball – the more crust-to-ball ratio, and I love a nice crispy, crunchy crust. After you’ve rolled them into balls you have come to a crossroad. Here is where you decide if you want to go full vegan or not.  If you don’t feel like veganing it up today, whisk one egg and roll your balls in that before covering them in bread crumbs. If you feel up to the vegan challenge, just skip the egg, the coating will stick anyway as you can see in the pictures below.
After all the little balls are perfectly coated sear them in a pan on a medium heat untill all sides are nice and golden brown.

See, that doesn’t sound so daunting does it? Go ahead and enjoy this meatless monday, hope you have good one guys!IMG_8758-2 IMG_8759-3 IMG_8766-4 IMG_8774-8

This entry was posted in Healthy, Meatless Monday, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Falafel

  1. These look absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing :-)

Leave a Reply

