Lemon Dreams

Feels like forever since I made something sweet for the blog, doesn’t it?
So this post today is the best and my favourite cookie. They’re pretty simple to make and completely unhealthy, just like all cookies should be. IMG_7213-2

Why have I named these dreams? Because this a classic swedish cookie, called “Drömmar” which translates into Dreams. Feels real great to be chomping down on dreams sometimes.

I have taken some liberties with the recipe, so they’re not quite like the original in looks, but they’re still just as tasty.

Ingredients for 50 cookies:
100 grams of unsalted butter
2 dl, or 0.8 cups of granulated white sugar
1 tablespoon of brown sugar
1 teaspoon of bakers ammonia*
1 dl, or 0.4 cups of oil (I used half rapeseed oil, half coconut oil)
4 dl, or 1.6 cups of flour
1 teaspoon of salt
Zest of 1 lemon

*I know you are looking at this list of ingredients and scratching your head going “dafuq, bakers ammonia?”

Yeah, I had to do some quite extensive googling to find out the english name for this which makes me think this isn’t used very often outside of Sweden. But then again, we don’t use baking soda very often either.
Anyway, my point is that from all I’ve read you could just exchange the bakers ammonia for baking soda.

If you find bakers ammonia and choose to use it, be aware!
Back in the old days it was used as smelling salt. Like seriously, don’t smell it. And in the first ten minutes in the oven, it will release that same smell. But don’t you dare worry for a second! Your cookies will not taste weird in the slightest, it’s just the way the rising agent works.

Alright, now that I’ve explained all the boring stuff, let’s get to the baking!
First put the oven to 125 degrees celsius and get your butter to room temperature.
Done? Great!

Mix together the sugar and butter with an electric whisk for a couple of minutes. Add your oil, keep whisking. Add the bakers ammonia, flour, lemon zest and half of the salt. At this point it should look like this. IMG_7192
If you want a thicker cookie than mine, add an extra 1-2 tablespoons of flour to the dough. This will make them harder to roll into balls though.

Start rolling up balls of cookie dough and placing them on an oven tray lined with baking paper. IMG_7199-2
Take two fingers and push down on every cookie. IMG_7202-2IMG_7203-2IMG_7205-2
Sprinkle with the remainder of the salt.
This is crucial!
Do not forget the salt. They will still taste great without, but the salt really brings them to a new level of awesome. So, remember salt!IMG_7206-2
Now, get into the oven for 20 minutes.
Take out and cool for about an hour or so. The cookies will be quite soft when they first come out, but have no fear! They will harden as they cool. IMG_7208-2IMG_7212-2
These cookies are super moreish, so be careful. It’s insanely hard just to eat one of them. But they’re a great treat for any festivities, or just when you’re having a down day and in serious need of some sugar for your own pity party.
Guess the reason I made them.

But I really hope you make these for whatever reason and truly indulge and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon Dreams

  1. Adam says:

    Oh wow. That looks great. Never knew it was that straight forward. Saturday morning I think I know what I,all be doing. Great post. X

    • Thanks again Adam.
      And I knoow! First time I found the recipe for this I was amazed. As a kid I always thought baking cookies inolved hours upon hours of serious concentration, so it’s always fun to find something great tasting that involves basically no brain-power. ;)

Leave a comment